美国健康保险

美国的健康开支

2010年,美国将抗保险支出接近2.6万亿美金,相较于1980年的2560亿美金多出将近10倍。相对于1990年代末和2000年代初,近年来的增长速度已经放缓,但在可预见的未来,增长速度仍有可能超过国民收入。

解决这一日益严重的负担仍然是一个主要的政策重点。此外,美国已经在过去十年的大部分时间里,对很多美国人来说,经济衰退导致更高的失业率和更低的收入。

虽然普遍认为必须要控制成本的上升,但是也有分歧的驱动因素。一些讨论成本增长的主要因素是:

  • 科学技术和处方药-近年来,处方药支出和新医疗技术被认为是主要主要造成总医疗支出增加的原因,然而,近年来,处方药支出已经明显减少。
  • 慢性病上升-在医疗保健系统中,延长寿命和更大慢性病患病率有巨大的需求。据估计,治疗慢性疾病的医疗费用占国家卫生支出的75%以上。特别是有巨大关注上升率的超重和肥胖的造成的慢性病造成医疗保健支出的增加。
  • 3. 行政支出-据估计,至少7%的医疗支出是用于政府医疗保健计划和私人保险的净成本。一些人认为公私混合制度创建的开销成本,推动卫生保健支出的巨额利润。

美国医疗开支分类

Investment

7%

Other health residential

3%

Net cost of health insurance

7%

Physician/ clinical services

20%

Retail – Other products

3%

Hospital care

31%

Retail – Rx drugs

10%

Nursing home care

7%

Other health residential and

7%

Other professional services

8%

Home health care

3%

Government Administration

1%

左图显示的关于健康维护支出的费用的根据来自医院护理和医生的诊断。过去,美国在处方药方面的支出已经超出总支出的一般,但是近十年已经大幅减少。 支出增加的重要因素是高科技医疗器械对健康保险费用支出的影响越来越大. – DIAN

Source: Martin A.B. et al., “Growth In US Health Spending Remained Slow in 2010; Health Share of Gross Domestic Product Was Unchanged from 2009,” Health Affairs, 2012.

国际学生健康保险(海外学生保险)

国际学生健康保险适用于离开本国到其他国家学习的学生,并为他们提供医疗保健和设施。它使您能更容易的从保险公司获得高品质的健康保险护理和福利,并且在您发生紧急情况或疾病的情况下帮您节省更过的钱。在美国医疗费用是非常高昂的。此外,如果学生不提供适当的国际学生保险覆盖记录,很多学院或者大学的将康保县提供这是拒绝为学生治疗的。

每个州对医疗保险的覆盖范围有不同的法律法规,但几乎每一个学院或者大学,都需要F签证的学生在进入大学前提供一份金融能力证明。如果不能在经济上自立,意味着他在美国的学习会被视为不合格的,有适当的医疗保险是一个必要的程序,在美国学习期间,所有的学生都需要携带至少是基本的国际学生医疗保险。虽然学校不能跟踪学生是否继续选择外国的学生健康保险,生病或者需要手术的风险仍然是一个问题。如果一个学生因为增加的医疗费用不能保证他们自己的健康,他们可能会因此丧失作为学生的资格而回到自己的国家。

为什么在美国学习期间,海外学生保险是必不可少的

在美国学习,国际学生健康保险是非常重要的,包含各种各样的原因:

  • 在紧急情况下,获得充足的和高质量的健康护理
  • 获得医生和其他健康保险提供者,以确保全年的最佳健康状态
  • 减少健康保险高成本,治疗,医生访问和处方药的机会
  • 从适当的健康保险提供者获得足够的医疗保障
  • 在紧急治疗情况下,减少财务负担
  • 符合大学的要求和指导方针

哪里购买国际学生健康保险

经济实惠的国际学生健康保险可以在线投保,也可以在您所学习的地区通过局域网投保。专门为国际学生设计的保险计划,您可以在第一次投保时联系大学招生办公室为您打折。这些价格远远低于您在其他地区的标准选择,并且能够提供足够的覆盖率。

哪里购买国际学生健康保险

特别是在F签证持有者计划中有很多覆盖项目和条件是相同的,您需要考虑以下几点:

  • 我将要覆盖的最高保额是多少?
  • 自付款是多少?
  • 该计划的保费是多少-不同的自付款对应的保费有什么不同?
  • 哪些是不能覆盖的?(比方说,有些保险计划不能覆盖大学或者校内的运动伤害)
  • 看医生有哪些限制?
  • 我需要被推荐去看专家医生吗?
  • 如果我在旅行中生病或者受伤怎么办?包含其他州和美国吗?
  • 看医生之前需要事先通知保险公司吗?
  • 我作为一名研究生,对于本科生有限制吗?
  • 最后,保费是否合理?

USA Health Insurance

Health Expenditure in U.S

Health expenditures in the United States neared $2.6 trillion in 2010, over ten times the $256 billion spent in 1980. The rate of growth in recent years has slowed relative to the late 1990s and early 2000s, but is still expected to grow faster than national income over the foreseeable future.

Addressing this growing burden continues to be a major policy priority. Furthermore, the United States has been in a recession for much of the past decade, resulting in higher unemployment and lower incomes for many Americans. These conditions have put even more attention on health spending and affordability.

While there is broad agreement that the rise in costs must be controlled, there is disagreement over the driving factors. Some of the major factors that have been discussed in cost growth are:

  • Technology and prescription drugs– For several years, spending on prescription drugs and new medical technologies has been cited as a primary contributor to the increase in overall health spending; however, in recent years, the rate of spending on prescription drugs has decelerated.
  • Rise in chronic diseases – Longer life spans and greater prevalence of chronic illnesses has placed tremendous demands on the health care system. It is estimated that health care costs for chronic disease treatment account for over 75% of national health expenditures. In particular, there has been tremendous focus on the rise in rates of overweight and obesity and their contribution to chronic illnesses and health care spending. The changing nature of illness has sparked a renewed interest in the possible role for prevention to help control costs.
  • Administrative costs – At least 7% of health care expenditures are estimated to go toward for the administrative costs of government health care programs and the net cost of private insurance (e.g. administrative costs, reserves, taxes, profits/losses). Some argue that the mixed public-private system creates overhead costs and large profits that are fueling health care spending

Classifications of health expenditure in U.S

Investment

7%

Other health residential

3%

Net cost of health insurance

7%

Physician/ clinical services

20%

Retail – Other products

3%

Hospital care

31%

Retail – Rx drugs

10%

Nursing home care

7%

Other health residential and

7%

Other professional services

8%

Home health care

3%

Government Administration

1%

Graph shows that half of expenditures related health maintaining is based on Hospital care and Physician/clinic. In the past, Prescription drug expense has overwhelmed the half of the total expenditure in USA however it has been decreasing dramatically for a decade. The key factor of increased expenditure is the hi-technologized medical instruments that will affect the cost of health insurance more and more. – DIAN –

Source: Martin A.B. et al., “Growth In US Health Spending Remained Slow in 2010; Health Share of Gross Domestic Product Was Unchanged from 2009,” Health Affairs, 2012.

International Student Health Insurance (Oversea Student Insurance)

International student health insurance is available for students who are studying away from their home country, and offers them access to health care and facilities. It makes it much easier to receive quality health care and benefits from insurance providers, and can help save thousands of dollars in case of an emergency or illness. Medical expenses can be very costly in US. In addition, many health care providers at colleges and universities can deny treatment if a student does not provide appropriate records of international student insurance coverage.

Each state has different laws and regulations regarding medical insurance coverage, but almost every college and university that accepts students on an ‘F’ visa requires proof of financial ability before enrolling in a college program. This means that students may be deemed ineligible for studies in the U.S. if they cannot support themselves financially; having the appropriate medical coverage is essential to this process, and all students need to carry at least the most basic international student medical insurance during their stay. While colleges and universities cannot track if a student is continuing with their selected foreign student health insurance, the risk of getting sick or requiring surgery is still a problem. If a student cannot afford to take care of their health because of increased medical expenses, they may be required to forfeit their status as a student and return to their home country.

Why Oversea Student Health Insurance Important While Studying in U.S

International student health insurance is important when studying in the U.S. for a variety of reasons including:

  • Receiving adequate and quality health care in an emergency situation
  • Having access to doctors and other health care providers to ensure optimal health throughout the year
  • Reducing the chances of having to manage the high costs of health care, treatment, doctor visits, and prescription medication
  • Receiving adequate health care from appropriate providers
  • Reducing the burden of financial hardship in case of emergency treatment
  • Compliance with university requirements and guidelines

Where to Buy International Student Insurance

Affordable international student health insurance plans are available online, as well as through local area networks in the state you are pursuing studies. Contacting the university admissions office first can lead you to discounted rate plans specifically designed for international students. These are often priced much lower than standard options available elsewhere, and can provide enough protection for adequate coverage.

What should be considered in when you buy the international student insurance?

There are many coverage item and conditions especially in F visa holders’ plan however In common, You will need to consider followings:

  • What is the maximum I would be covered for?
  • How much is the deductible?
  • How much will this cost – and how does the cost change with different deductibles?
  • What am I not covered for (for example, some insurance plans don’t cover varsity or even intramural sports injuries)?
  • Are there restrictions on which physicians I can use?
  • Do I need a referral to see a specialist?
  • What if I get sick or hurt while I’m traveling? Including outside State and USA?
  • Do I need pre-approval from the insurance company before I can go see a health-care provider?
  • Am I covered as a graduate student, or is the restricted to undergrads?
  • The last, Reasonable premium?